Ak57\’s Weblog

Thoughts and opinions on Malaysian news, its people and its culture

V.K. Lingam No Longer MIA

Lawyer in video recording controversy keeps mum

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk V. K. Lingam, the lawyer allegedly captured on video discussing judicial appointments with a senior judge, declined comment when contacted yesterday.

“I am travelling. I don’t want to comment. When I am ready, I will issue a statement,” he told Berita Harian in a brief telephone conversation yesterday.

(cut)….Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said the ACA was aiding the three-man independent panel formed to probe the video recording.

“The result of the investigation will determine the next course of action, which will be decided by the cabinet,” he said at the ACA’s 40th anniversary commemoration.

(cut)….Meanwhile, the legal profession’s disciplinary board will meet on Oct 19 to discuss the action to be taken against Lingam.

Its chairman Tan Sri Khalid Ahmad Sulaiman said a Bar Council report on the allegations against Lingam would be discussed at the next board meeting.

– quoted from an article publised in NST on 2nd October 2007 (link)

V.K. Lingam has been contacted! Hurray…of course he said no comment, but at least he’s not MIA. I am a bit suspicious of Nazri saying that the next course of action will be decided by the cabinet. The whole cabinet? Doesn’t sound quite right to me, but I need to do more legal research to confirm that. I’m marking October 20th in my calendar, hope to see some news about the disciplinary board meeting.

Written by ak57

October 2, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Posted in Local News, Nazri Nonsense

Tagged with

