Ak57\’s Weblog

Thoughts and opinions on Malaysian news, its people and its culture

An unexpected source of help

RM20,000 reward stays

The RM20,000 is still on the table.

MCA Public Services and Complaint Department head Datuk Michael Chong reiterated that the reward for information leading to the successful arrest and prosecution of eight-year-old Nurin Jazlin Jazimin’s killer is still on.

– quoted from an article published in The Malay Mail on October 3rd 2007 (no link available online)

I was surprised to see this at first, mainly because the only times I have seen MCA giving financial aid were in cases involving Chinese victims. In fact since I am not a pure Chinese, I have joked with friends (admittedly in bad taste) on what MCA’s response would be if I ever went to them for help with some crime commited against me or some other personal trouble.

I hope this is the start of a good trend and look forward to seeing more cases of MCA helping Malaysians in this manner regardless of race.

Written by ak57

October 4, 2007 at 2:04 am

Posted in Local News

Tagged with ,

