Ak57\’s Weblog

Thoughts and opinions on Malaysian news, its people and its culture

Stripped and Measured

For the second time in a decade, Anwar Ibrahim now stands accused of sodomy and was brought to a hospital to be probed, measured and examined.

“When I was brought to the hospital, I was stripped naked for tests and had my private parts examined,” the PKR de facto leader told a packed 30-minute press conference at his house hours after he was freed on police bail.

“They also measured the necessary parts,” Anwar quipped.

However, he put his foot down when they came for his blood.

(snip)

Anwar, 61, added that he also refused to have his photographs taken while he was naked in the hospital.

“They’ve already seen all my private parts. Of course, I refused to let them take my photographs. They (the photographs) could end up on YouTube very soon.

“At my age, it’s not a problem but I don’t think it would be complimentary,” quipped Anwar, who was flanked by family members including wife Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and daughter, Nurul Izzah.

Nevertheless, he said that the police were exceeding polite and did not touch him at all.

“But I regret to say, that for a person my age with a severe back problem after a major surgery should end up in a cell reserved for the worst criminals in town,” said Anwar.

“And I was asked to sleep on the cold cement floor with nothing. At 1am, my wife brought a towel and that exarcerbated the pain.

“That’s why the moment I got back, my family doctor came to give me a strong dosage of painkillers to my back.

– quoted from an article published in Malaysiakini on 17th July 2008 (link)

The only nice thing I can find in this story is that the police didn’t force him to give his blood, or take photos of his –ahem ahem– areas. Far too little compared to the tragedy that this story is, the poor man had to sleep on the cold cement floor?

I had no idea his back was so bad that painkillers had to be injected directly into it. I can’t tell you how glad I am that I don’t slap people on the back when I greet them anymore, it would have led to a very awkard situation with the good sir.

You may find the following comic offensive, if you are then I apologise. Sometimes during times of sorrow its good to try and find some humour in the situation.

Written by ak57

July 18, 2008 at 1:19 am

