Ak57\’s Weblog

Thoughts and opinions on Malaysian news, its people and its culture

Ushering in 2010

I don’t think there’s much I can say about 2009 that wasn’t already covered in my previous post. One update I can share is that my ex-abuser picked a fight with me in public, totally embarrassing herself in the process. It was weird, depressing and funny at the same time. All this time I thought I would be the one to snap, but she snapped first. The aftermath of that was my being comforted by the people she expected to support her mad behavior, comfort I direly needed. It’s helped a lot.

I started this blog back in 2007 because it was relevant to my work at the time to keep tabs on the VK Lingam drama. Along the way I started cartooning which has long been a dream of mine (I’m a huge fan of single panel comics such as Far Side by Gary Larson). I also dabbled a bit in video but technology has evolved a lot since I last worked with the medium a decade ago, so catching up has been slow.

These past few months I’ve slowly been trying to evolve a new art style, the result of which you can see above. One reason is that I recently wrote a draft book, well more of a booklet really since its 70-odd pages of single panel comics which require a new art style. Another is moving on with life by leaving behind reminders of this difficult period.

This year I hope to make a return to writing, cartooning and documenting the political happenings in our country. I spent most of 2009 asleep and in a daze and need to get back in touch with current issues, and blogging is the best way to do that.

Written by ak57

January 3, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Posted in AK57 Comics, Personal

